CD REVIEW Before The Dawn

Band: Before The Dawn
Album title: Rise Of The Phoenix
Label: Nuclear Blast Records
Distributor: PIAS
Release date: 27/04/2012
Release: CD

Before the Dawn is a melodic death metal band from Finland that started out in 1999 by Tuomas Saukkonen as his solo project. So the first line-up was gathered so that the band could perform live. With many changes in the lineup the guys entered the studio to record some material. This got a lot of positive feedback so the they started writing more and more. Over the years the band has released 1 demo,  6 albums (this is their number 7), 1 DVD and 3 EP's.
On January 25th, 2012 the band announced on their Facebook page that "Rise of the Phoenix" will be the title of their new album, and is slated for an April 27th release through Nuclear Blast Records. Frontman Tuomas Saukkonen commented: "Massive changes in the line-up during 2011 ended an era of great frustration and brought back 110% dedication and professionalism into the band.

And it shows, upon hearing this album you can not only hear that the band putted a lot of time and hard work in it, but you can feel it swell. Although i never heard of this band let alone their material, their work is so great and feels natural to the ear for people who love this melodic death metal genre. The only downside is that the record only counts 9 songs.